Author Topic: HMU USMLE Group Discussion  (Read 8435 times)

Offline Hoàng Bảo Long

• Resident Member
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Gothmania
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
HMU USMLE Group Discussion
« on: October 24, 2007, 02:24:42 PM »
Topic: Blood cells and Coagulation

It's hard to review everything in the chapter Hematology and Oncology in just a 90-minute discussion. Therfore, we decided to choose only a small piece of this chapter to discuss about. The chosen topic were Blood cells and Coagulation (p. 287 to p. 291 - First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, 2006), which was presented by me, Gothmania. I am currently a second year student and this topic is really necessary to me. Looking up the knowledge in Physiology and Immunology, I have made a 30-minute presentation about Blood cells differentiation, 3 types of Blood cells, Blood clotting forming and Lysis of Blood clotting ... Because my knowledge was limited, I only stopped at the Physiology of Blood cells and Coagulation, however, some clinical information about hematologic disorders was also included. I introduced them but didn't tell the detail (the next discussion will provide the detail). After the presentation, we discussed around the topic. I have picked up 3 questions from Kaplan's QBook for discussion. Also, there were some other questions given during discussing:

- Where is Hemoglobin located in erythrocytes? How does Oxygen bind to Hemoglobin?
- What provides energy for erythrocytes?
- What leads to decrease of coagulation factors in Vitamin K Deficiency?

We finished discussing after about 90 minutes and the discussion was really interesting. Physiology of Blood is really important, in my opinion.

Our next discussion:
Time: 17h30, Monday, Oct 29th 2007
Venue: HMU Student Club (2nd floor, near Canteen)
Topic: Hematologic Disorders - Anemia, Lymphomas and Leukemia (p. 298 to p.304)
Presenter: Ly Na and Hanh (both 5th year student in HMU)